10 Franz Kafka Quotes

Today is the birthday of the novel and short story writer Franz Kafka (1883-1924).

10 Favorite Kafka Quotations

  1. Many a book is like a key to unknown chambers within the castle of one’s own self.
  2. A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us.
  3. Youth is happy because it has the capacity to see beauty. Anyone who keeps the ability to see beauty never grows old.
  4. Don’t bend; don’t water it down; don’t try to make it logical; don’t edit your own soul according to the fashion. Rather, follow your most intense obsessions mercilessly.
  5. I write differently from what I speak, I speak differently from what I think, I think differently from the way I ought to think, and so it all proceeds into deepest darkness.
  6. I am free and that is why I am lost.
  7. I think we ought to read only the kind of books that wound or stab us. If the book we’re reading doesn’t wake us up with a blow to the head, what are we reading for?
  8. I am a cage, in search of a bird.
  9. All language is but a poor translation.
  10. You do not need to leave your room. Remain sitting at your table and listen. Do not even listen, simply wait, be quiet, still and solitary. The world will freely offer itself to you to be unmasked, it has no choice, it will roll in ecstasy at your feet.
Leave a Reply

