How Many Moons Does Pluto Have?

Photo: Comparison of the sizes of Earth, Pluto and Charon (Pluto’s largest moon) as viewed from a great distance.

Question: How Many Moons Does Pluto Have?

Answer: Pluto has 5 known moons. Their names are Charon, Nix, Hydra, Kerberos and Styx.

The Known Moons of Pluto:

Charon: Discovered in 1978, this small moon is almost half the size of Pluto. It is so big Pluto and Charon are sometimes referred to as a double planet system.

Nix and Hydra: These small moons were found in 2005 by a Hubble Space Telescope team studying the Pluto system.

Kerberos: Discovered in 2011, this tiny moon is located between the orbits of Nix and Hydra.

Styx: Discovered in 2012, this little moon was found by a team of scientists searching for potential hazards to the New Horizons spacecraft flyby in 2015.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s